Salmon with Za’atar

What a pleasure it is to find another simple but delicious recipe.  And this fine discovery has another of my favourite ingredients: Pomegranate molasses!  This nectar has a concentrated sweet-tart flavour and I was excited to find this Pomegranate Salmon with Za’atar that blends pomegranate molasses and za’atar together into one dish.
zsalmon1The other exciting news here is that I am attending the first ever Food Bloggers Conference of Canada next weekend and as a pre-conference gift, all attendees received a set of Nordicware cookware to try out before the conference.  The bright red braising pan proved perfect to prepare and bake this salmon.

zsalmon2Here are the steps:

Baste a salmon filet with pomegranate molasses.

Sprinkle za’atar (I used the green za’atar) on top of the molasses.

Place sliced lemons on top of the za’atar.

Bake in the oven for about 15-20 minutes at 350 degrees C.

The salmon came out so moist.  The flavour melted together: sweet and sour from the pomegranate molasses plus the enhanced tartness of the lemon slices, and the herb-y blend of the za’atar.

zsalmon3I served the salmon with steamed cauliflower and a most interesting side dish  which I modified from Yotam Ottolenghi’s recipe for Crisp Couscous and Saffron Cakes.  I substituted goat cheese instead of feta (I enjoy the mildness of the goat cheese) and used whole wheat couscous.  I served these cakes with the recommended tomato chutney but they were so tasty on their own!

zsalmon4A thumbs-up meal!  Enjoy!

3 comments

  1. Marcia Cantor · · Reply

    This one sounds great! Where did you purchase the Pom Molasses? I’ve had to make my own because I could never find any in a store? thanks!
    Marcia

  2. Sounds simple and delicious; and I love the look of the salmon covered with lemons in your new Nordicware.

    1. Thank you! The salmon looked and tasted great!

Leave a Reply

