When in Alaska, Eat Salmon!

20130627-120242.jpg
I am on a magnificent scenic cruise in Alaska. In the clear and crisp air, we gazed in awe at the glaciers in Glacier Bay. We were fortunate to see orca and humpback whales, harbour seals, a brown bear and bald eagles, in their natural habitat. Taking a tour of Skagway and enjoying the sights of Juneau have helped us experience the local culture and people.

And of course, the amount of food selection on the ship is overwhelming. For me, it’s a giant research project, sampling foods that I may want to write about or try to make later at home.

Today the executive chef was interviewed. He oversees 7000 to 8000 meals a day. So I am grateful to have a dinner party for only four to ten people and relax!

A constant item on the menu in the restaurants and on the ship meals is salmon…so far, I have had barbecued salmon, salmon ceviche, salmon in a maple rub, and in Moroccan spices rub. As we walked around Juneau, the stores sell smoked salmon, salmon jerky and various canned salmon and related products.

One of the stores had a pamphlet of dry rub recipes for the Local Alaskan fish…salmon, cod and halibut (but mostly salmon, it seems). I want to share some of these recipes with you, plus others that I have had a chance to think about over the past few days! Please be patient as I will not return home for another few days…I am on my iPad on satellite Internet on the ship and need my less erratic home Internet.

Enjoy the day and happy times.

4 comments

  1. Ellen Gelman · · Reply

    The benefit for all of us is that we will be able to expand our salmon cooking vocabulary through your Alaskan adventure.How lucky we are.
    Spice student,elle

    1. Thank you for your kind words and support. I will do my best to educate and entertain.

  2. Lauren · · Reply

    Lots of great ideas for a cooking class!

    1. So many recipes, Lauren…and not enough time to play!

Leave a Reply

