Make it a Double-Double Maple-Coconut Granola

IMG_1209 (1023x1024) Do you have recipes that everyone loves and ask you for them but you hesitate to give them away?  Well, this is one of them but I’m learning to let go and share. Recently I read an article in Buzzfeed Food: How to Make the Best Granola Ever and I wondered, is mine the best?  The ingredients for the ‘best’ are summarized below and I have checked off those included in the recipe I am sharing with you today:

Granola Chart The last three ingredients were optional (never added an egg white before so I’m not starting now) but I love spices a lot, and chocolate, not so much, so I guess this recipe IS the best.

Based on a recipe from Melissa Clark who is a food writer for the New York Times, the main ingredients are old-fashioned rolled oats (not the quick cook variety), chopped pecans, pumpkin seeds, and coconut chips (which are a nice change from shredded coconut and gives an added texture to the mix).IMG_1215 (1024x802) Maple syrup season is coming soon and fortunately, I can buy it from local producers in the Ottawa area.  I divide the sweetener between liquid maple syrup and maple sugar.  IMG_1219 (1024x543)Coconut oil has a list of positive attributes which you can read in Melissa Clark’s article. IMG_1229 (864x692)Sometimes I add dried cherries or chopped dried apricots but since I’m giving some of this batch to my son, the dried fruit of choice is golden raisins.IMG_1220 (1024x725) Very easy to put together.  Everything is measured and baked together except the raisins which will be added after the granola comes out of the oven.IMG_1221 (1024x819)This granola is toasty, sweet and spoiling.  The maple sugar can be omitted completely for a less sweet version.  It tastes great with some milk (regular or almond), or added to Greek yogurt.IMG_1211 (1024x708)

Maple Coconut Granola

Makes about 7 cups

3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats (not instant rolled oats)
1 1/2 cups raw pecans, coarsely chopped
1 cup raw pumpkin seeds
1 cup unsweetened coconut chips
1/2 cup pure maple syrup
1/2 cup virgin coconut oil, melted
1/3 cup maple sugar (use less sugar or omit altogether)
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
3/4 cup chopped dried fruit, dried cherries or raisins

  1. Preheat the oven to 300° F.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the oats, pecans, pumpkin seeds, coconut chips, maple syrup, coconut oil, brown sugar, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Spread the mixture on a rimmed baking sheet in an even layer and bake until golden all over, about 45 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes.
  3. Transfer the granola to a large bowl and add the dried fruit, tossing to combine.

2 comments

  1. Looks great. I had just bought some oats to make granola – I use Mark Bittman’s recipe but I think I’ll try yours. I will omit the maple sugar though. Thanks!

  2. Maple sugar – I need some of this!

Leave a Reply

