Chia Pudding

IMG_1244 (1024x753) When I invite friends for dinner and they ask me what they can bring, I always ask for dessert.  I would rather make the main course.  Every so often though, I am intrigued by a simple dessert that fits the bill.  Chia pudding is one of these recipes. I keep chia seeds in the house and savour their health benefits —  and they can be added to breads, smoothies, granola.  But this dessert was special.  It goes together like a smoothie, and when you add the chia seeds, and let sit a few hours, they gel up and create a tapioca-type consistency.  Chia Pudding has 4 basic ingredients.  The rest is garnish and you choose the topping.   Chia seeds are high in protein, fibre, and calcium. IMG_1241 (853x761) First you need a cup of coconut milk.  Make sure you mix the contents of the can to get the solids with the liquid. IMG_1242 (854x638)Add a cup of your favourite puréed fruit.  I used frozen blueberries this time but have tried this recipe with mangos also.  A tablespoon of maple syrup, or honey, adjusted to your personal sweetness level and a sprinkle of cinnamon and/or vanilla. Add the sweetener to the mixture — blend in 4 tablespoons of chia seeds, mix well and put the concoction in the fridge for a few hours or overnight.  The consistency of the pudding when it is ready is nothing short of miraculous.  I garnished with a sprig of mint and coconut chips.  So easy and tastes so good.IMG_1245 (690x489)I have also made this pudding with almond milk instead of coconut milk, mangos instead of blueberries. but blueberry/coconut milk is my favourite….so far.  Try a combination and tell me how you like it! IMG_1246 (715x568)

Chia Pudding

  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 cup fruit of your choice (berries, banana, mango), puréed
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup, plus more if desired
  • 1 pinch either cinnamon, vanilla powder, or cocoa powder
  • 4 tablespoons chia seeds
  • 1 handful shredded coconut, for garnish (optional)
  • 1 handful chopped mint or basil, for garnish (optional)
  1. Combine the coconut milk, fruit, 1 tablespoon maple syrup, and spices on low in a blender or food processor until smooth, about 1 minute. Taste, then add more maple syrup if you prefer a sweeter taste. (Sweeter fruits like bananas will require less syrup.)
  2. Pour your blended milk mixture into a bowl with a cover or jar that has a lid—mason jars work well.
  3. Stir in the chia seeds. Scrape every last bit of of the seeds into the mixture. If you prefer a thicker pudding, add another tablespoon of chia seeds.
  4. Cover and let thicken in fridge for a few hours. Overnight is best. It will have a pudding-like texture when it is done.
  5. Once the pudding has set, remove it from the refrigerator. If desired, garnish it with a handful of shredded coconut, mint or basil. Serve cold.

6 comments

  1. France's harris · · Reply

    Sounds yummy and easy. A must try

  2. beryl ben-reuven · · Reply

    I wish that I would be at your house when you have made it and try it there as I’m not sure I would make it here?? But I’m game??

    1. I would be happy to make it again with you as my sous-chef 🙂

  3. natasha · · Reply

    I just LOVE chia seeds … I’ve let them puff up in liquid before I used them in a smoothie – never occurred to me to make a pudding with them (and I’m a huge lover of tapioca). thx

  4. Just making some simple chia pudding now…then when I eat it I’ll add a sweetener, fruit and nuts. Your recipe sounds great too!

    1. Please share your recipe and tell me how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

