One Ingredient Homemade Whole Grain Crackers

IMG_1339 (547x472)I love to peruse cookbooks. And since the library has an abundance of them, I usually have one borrowed at any one time.  Last week, after being on the waiting list for months, I got my hands on Food52 Genius Recipes: 100 Recipes That Will Change the Way You Cook. This is a great cookbook with a ‘best recipe’ for many famous world-wide chefs. The one that caught my attention was  from Chef Dan Barber  who shares his recipe for making homemade crackers out of a specific whole grain.  I decided to try out this recipe using wheat berries, since that is what I had in the pantry.

IMG_1323 (1024x853)I am not even going to write out a recipe because all you need is one cup of wheat berries and water.

I cooked the dried wheat berries in a few cups of water until very tender.  Drained the berries and reserved the liquid. IMG_1322 (1024x765) I put the cooked berries in a food processor with a little of the cooking liquid and puréed until it had the texture of cooked oatmeal.You don’t want to liquify it; you want to keep some of the texture of the grain.  Spread the mixture onto a cookie sheet, lined with a silicone sheet or parchment paper.

IMG_1324 (1024x658) Bake in a preheated oven at 300°F for about 2 1/2 hours until dry and crispy.  Sprinkle with salt, if desired.

IMG_1325 (1024x520)Now you can snap off irregular pieces to make artisan-looking crackers.  I served it with hummus.  Great crispy cracker that would go with any dip.  And easy to make at home.  Enjoy!IMG_1327 (1024x813)

12 comments

  1. That’s awesome. What other grains could you do this with?

    1. Chef Dan Barber uses freekeh or farro. This would be interesting to try with bulgur too!

  2. sounds yummy

    1. And no additives — really a treat.

  3. Marcia Cantor · · Reply

    this is a keeper!! Thanks!

    >

    1. I’m going to try it with other grains too!

  4. Am so making this… Wondered if you could do the same with barley or brown rice!!!

    1. I would love to try your suggestions too. I was going to attempt bulgur next!

  5. Looks good for my non white flour diet.

    1. And no other additives!

  6. France's harris · · Reply

    Easy, nutritious and tasty

    1. They are quite tasty & crispy too!

Leave a Reply

