Salmon Burgers with Asian Spices

IMG_0745 (1024x981)
I’m in the midst of winter holidays and I’m already stuffed from eating in too much, dining out too much, with family and friends, whom I love so much. And New Year’s eve is days away.  Time for easy and lighter fare.

Recently I explored a new cookbook, Michael Smith’s Make Ahead Meals .  Lots of straight forward and good recipes that can be prepared in advance or frozen.  I prepare larger portions than what we usually eat at home for dinner and freeze at least one meal’s worth for another day when I have run out of time or I’m too tired to cook.  It’s also nice to have a frozen meal prepared for others when I am not around for dinner — my way of taking care of my family!

My mom used to cook ‘salmon patties’ as a light dinner when I was growing up.  I still make them — simple, like putting together any burger, except with canned salmon, held together by an egg and bread crumbs, a little salt and pepper and pan fried.  So when I saw Michael Smith’s Asian Salmon burgers with Mango Ginger Salsa on page 130, this gave me the notion to bump up the flavour in those salmon patties with Asian spicing and grated ginger.  In the book, the recipe called for fresh salmon fillets but I’d rather save those for grilling.  I substituted two cans of red sockeye salmon and added one egg as a binder.  I also didn’t make the salsa; I was happy with a store bought mango chutney to add some zing to the topping.
IMG_1644 (852x1024)
Ingredients are canned salmon, chopped cilantro, grated ginger, chopped red onion, soy sauce and a little sriracha for heat. FullSizeRender
I also added a beaten egg for binding.

Mash the canned salmon with a fork and then mix all the ingredients gently together, just squeezing enough to shape them into formed patties.
IMG_0743 (1024x940)
Gently fry them until they are browned on both sides.
IMG_0744 (1024x1023)
Below is the mango chutney I keep in the fridge, usually as a condiment for Indian appetizers, such as samosas.  However, it makes a great easy topping for these salmon burgers.
FullSizeRender(1)
I toasted the burger buns and topped with some lettuce and the mango chutney.  Add more sliced red onions or tomato, if desired.  I truly enjoyed the blend of flavours of the ginger and sriracha in every bite.
FullSizeRender(2)

Asian Salmon Burgers

2 cans red sockeye salmon
2 cups fresh cilantro leaves, roughly chopped
1/4 cup red onion, chopped finely
1/4 cup grated ginger (grated from a piece of frozen ginger will give you a finer grate)
1 tbsp. soy sauce
1 tsp. sriracha sauce
1 egg, beaten
2 tbsp. oil for frying

Extras: Lettuce, mango chutney and burger buns, if desired.  Sliced red onion and tomatoes, too.

  1. Mix together all ingredients except the oil and gently shape into burger patties.
  2. Heat oil to a medium-high heat in a frying pan and cook patties on both sides until golden brown.
  3. Slide onto a toasted bun and top with lettuce and mango chutney and enjoy!

2 comments

  1. Merle Moses · · Reply

    Delicious, I love the mango chutney addition! Thanks for this inspiration!

    1. Another great extra condiment favourite in our home is Thai Sweet Chili Sauce!

Leave a Reply

