Easy Za’atar Bread at Home

IMG_0918

Za’atar bread: a savoury flatbread slathered with a za’atar/oil/salt topping.  It’s a delicious take out from my local middle eastern bakery (and they even warm it up for you to go) and I buy some every time I go shopping there.  Yummy substitute for plain old pita to serve with hummus or other dip.

IMG_0859

Store-bought za’atar bread

However, I can’t always make it to the bakery and I thought I would make some at home.  Originally, I was going to actually make the flatbread for this blogpost and my sister said, “why don’t you find an shortcut that people would try and prepare themselves?”.  And I thought this through and decided she was right!

The only ingredients you need are olive oil, za’atar, salt and a couple pieces of naan.  I keep naan in my freezer for an Indian meal, and therefore always have it available.

I have made a homemade za’atar version in a previous post a while back  ( Z is for Za’atar) but the store-bought mix works just fine.

IMG_0913

easy ingredients to have in pantry and freezer

This recipe is more of a guideline, as there is a lot of personal preference involved.  My personal preference is loads of za’atar on top of my bread.  I mixed 1/4 cup of za’atar with a 1/4 cup of olive oil and added a teaspoon of salt.  That’s it.

IMG_0914

mix equal amounts of za’atar and olive oil

Brush it onto the bread as thinly or thickly as you like it.  The picture of store-bought above is a little sparser than my version below.  As you can see, I used up all my mixture on two pieces of naan.  Place on a baking sheet in a pre-heated 350°F oven to warm through and make a little toasty.

IMG_0915

smear the za’atar oil thickly on naan

Don’t walk away — check on the bread to ensure that it doesn’t get overdone or burnt, between 5 and 10 minutes.

IMG_0916

warm and toasty after baking

Smells delicious — still warm.  I cut my homemade za’atar bread into wedges and serve with hummus.  An easy shortcut and you don’t always have to have that bakery version.  Enjoy.

IMG_0917

za’atar bread wedges served with hummus

Easy Za'atar Bread

2 naan
1/4 cup za’atar mix
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp. salt

  1. Mix za’atar, oil and salt together.  Brush as much as you’d like onto the naan.
  2. In a preheated 350°F oven, bake the breads for 5-10 minutes, watching constantly and ensure it does not burn.
  3. Remove from oven, cut into wedges and serve warm or at room temperature with hummus or other dip.

2 comments

  1. Yummy,, so easy and delicious! Especially with hummous

    1. It is delicious…just love sharing these shortcuts!

Leave a Reply

